Site news

New staff BLE training dates confirmed - January-March 2018

 
Sultan Wadud
New staff BLE training dates confirmed - January-March 2018
by Sultan Wadud - Thursday, 8 February 2018, 1:55 PM
 
BLE Beginner - This practical workshop will introduce you to the Bloomsbury Learning Environment (BLE), and is aimed at those with no or little previous experience. You will learn the basics of adding and editing content to your courses online, plus some tips and tricks on ways of getting the most out of this powerful learning support tool.
- Wed 21st Feb, 10-12.30pm
- Wed 7th Mar, 10-12.30pm

BLE Intermediate
- Following on from the beginner workshop you should now be ready to learn more about the many powerful features of Moodle. In this workshop you will learn how to copy content between courses, view what activity has taken place in your course, how to upload media content, create a quiz and a blog within your course.
- Thu 8th Mar, 10-12.30pm

BLE Advanced
- This advanced level BLE workshop is targeted for users who feel confident with Moodle and what to try out some of the advanced features and tools that are available to enhance their courses.
- Set Grouping option to activities, files, links and topics to restrict access so that a particular selection of students can access it
- Add a Scheduler to a course to allow students to book appointments
- Insert RSS Feeds to a course so fresh content is available on a regular basis
- Utilise HTML blocks to make a course stand out, such as embedding a Twitter feed.
- Tue 8th Feb, 2-4.30pm
- Thu 15th Mar, 10-12.30pm

Getting started with SOAS RE:View (Panopto) - the university's centrally-supported tool for recording lectures, which is integrated to the BLE. It can be used to record teaching sessions/events including audio, video, your PowerPoint presentations etc
- Mon 12th Feb, 1-2pm
- Thu 22nd Feb, 1-2pm
- Mon 26th Feb, 12-1pm
- Wed 14th Mar, 12-1pm
- Tue 20th Mar, 1-2pm

To book for one of the above staff training sessions please complete the simple online booking form. If you experience any problems with the booking process please contact ble@soas.ac.uk